Milano

Vacation in Milan was a good chance to relax. I stayed with my friend Laura and some of her family. It rained most of the time, but when it didn’t–

I saw the duomo and many other places which I don’t have photos of, but I also met L.’s friends, learned some slang and won Italian Monopoli!

I did have to work on my photography class homework, some of which includes taking photos of people I know in their everyday, normal environment. So I did, but since I was in Milan I couldn’t help thinking of all the Italian paintings, especially since the Sforza family castle is still there. I’ve taken several art history courses that cover the Sforza family.

Italian nobility during the Renaissance. Battista Sforza and Federico da Montefeltro. His nose and face was disfigured on his right side by a duel, and I think he was missing an eyeball as well, if I remember correctly.

Italians today. Seemingly not so different (scherzo)! They’re much better-looking, of course, even if I chose thumbnail-sized photos. My friend, L., and one of L.’s friends :

           

With L. and friends, I also went on the Metro, the tram and the bus. We ate a lot of pasta and variations of pizza in between going from place to place, which were all really good. Unfortunately I ate all of it too fast, so I have no photos. I also ate a persimmon (yum!) for the first time in my life. It looks like a tomato but has a very particular growing season and can only be eaten when it is perfectly ripe, otherwise it is apparently really disgusting.

Anyways, I had a very good week in Milan: I practiced speaking Italian, learned to “faire la bise” from right to left (in France it is the other way around), avoided gypsies, and even went to Laura’s school for a day.

Finally, I was made to watch this commercial while I was there, because the girl’s name is Molly, which sounds like “molli” in Italian, but here it is *also* the name of a headache medicine. Interesting, I know). Arrivederci!

When it wasn’t raining . . .

Il Duomo, the main one of Milano. Picture taken from the top stair of the Metra station.

Comments?

